A futile attempt to resign from the role of ‘Chief Wine Selector’

I have failed in my objective.

courtney

I feel ya, sister

The whole reason I launched Grapeful – the inspiration behind the idea – was that I was fed up of choosing the wine at dinner. As a level 3 qualified wine nerd (whatever that means), I frequently found myself handed the wine list by friends. Choosing wine for a large group isn’t as easy as it sounds – you have to cater for all tastes and budgets, and you are inevitably in the firing line if there are any problems.

So I decided to launch an app to absolve myself from the position of ‘chief wine selector’. My logic was as follows: offer a man a wine and food pairing, and he’ll drink for a day; teach a man to pair food with wine, and he’ll drink for the rest of his life. Makes sense, right?

Wrong.

I have now found myself even more likely to be asked (told) to choose the wine at dinner. In fact, last Saturday I was dining at a new Argentine restaurant and, would you believe, my friends gave me homework. I was briefed to “study the wine list, draw up a list of pros and cons of each wine, and then present it to us in PowerPoint format at dinner”. Verbatim. I have lovely friends.Torrontés_en_Cafayate_(Argentina)

Fuelled by an unrelenting desire to always complete homework assigned to me (Asian parents), I did indeed study the wine list. What I found was that a great deal of the white wine on offer was…. torrontés!

Torrontés is, in my view, a massively underrated grape variety. It produces white wines typically with concentrated aromas, refreshing acidity, and hints of flowers, spices and stone fruit. If you like peaches and apricots, you’ll love this wine. Although some torrontés is produced in Chile, Argentina is the world’s main producer.

As if the description above isn’t tempting enough, torrontés is also a great food wine. Its fragrant yet fruity flavours make it a fantastic companion to spicy Asian dishes – Thai, Indian, Japanese, Vietnamese, you name it. Not forgetting the cardinal food pairing rule “if it grows together, it goes together”, it is my favourite choice of wine for South American and Mexican food (delicious with guacamole). That said, you don’t have to confine it to spice – torrontés is versatile enough to be a great summer barbecue wine.

So when I spotted four different types of torrontés on the restaurant’s website, I was so consumed by anticipation that I did not complete the presentation. Not that I needed it – torrontés speaks for itself.

Bridesmaids-drinking

Visit www.grapefulapp.com for more food and wine pairings, or download Grapeful directly from the Apple App Store or Google Play Store. Or just order any old bottle of torrontés – why not?

2 thoughts on “A futile attempt to resign from the role of ‘Chief Wine Selector’

Leave a Reply

